How To Disable the Deleting of History in Chrome

If other people are using your computer or mobile device, you may want to make sure you keep track of activity and sites visited. In Chrome and many other browsers, there is no direct way to completely prevent users from deleting Chrome browser history. However, there are a few tweaks you can use to stop someone with basic IT knowledge.

Read on to learn how to avoid deleting browser history on different devices.

Disable Clear Browsing History in Chrome on a Mac

You can use the Google Apps Admin console to prevent other users from deleting browser history when using your Mac; here’s how.

  1. Go to admin.google.com and sign in.
  2. Select the “Device Manager” option.
  3. Click on ‘Chrome Management’.
  4. Choose ‘User Settings’ and then go to ‘Security’.
  5. Under “Incognito Mode,” choose “Do Not Allow Incognito Mode” from the drop-down menu.
  6. Scroll down to the “Browsing history” drop-down and select “Always save browsing history.”

However, anyone with average technical know-how can bypass this method. If that’s a possibility, consider using a history extension. The Full History Keeper extension records all sites visited even after it has been erased.

  1. Visit the Chrome web store to find the Full History Keeper app.
  2. Connect it to your Chrome account to save the browsing history.

However, this method is not effective when Chrome is set to Incognito mode. It will also not be effective if the user logs out of the Chrome account.

Disable Delete browsing history Chrome Windows

Use the Google Apps Admin console to prevent the people you share your Windows PC with from deleting browser history; here’s how.

  1. Navigate to admin.google.com and sign in.
  2. Click on the “Device Manager” option.
  3. Select ‘Chrome Management’.
  4. Choose ‘User Settings’ and then go to ‘Security’.
  5. Under “Incognito Mode,” from the drop-down menu, select “Do Not Allow Incognito Mode.”
  6. Scroll down to the “Browsing history” drop-down and select “Always save browsing history.”

Someone with average technical experience can bypass this method. If that’s a possibility, consider installing a history extension. The Full History Keeper extension records all sites visited even after the history has been cleared from the browser.

  1. Visit the Chrome web store to find the Full History Keeper app.
  2. Press “Add to Chrome” to save the browser history.

This method will not be successful if Chrome is set to Incognito mode. It also doesn’t work if the user logs out of the Chrome account.

Turn off Delete browsing history Chromebook

The tweak to prevent users from deleting Chrome’s browsing history is slightly different on the Chromebook. The following instructions are for disabling the delete browsing history option.

  1. Go to admin.google.com and sign in.
  2. Select ‘Device Manager’ and then ‘Chrome Manager’.
  3. Choose ‘User setting’.
  4. Find “URL Blacklist” under “URL Blocking”.
  5. In the “URL Blacklist” box, type the following:
    • chrome://settings/clearBrowserData/
    • chrome://settings-frame/clearBrowserData
    • chrome://history-frame/
    • chrome://history/
  6. Save the changes.

Disable Delete Browsing History in Chrome on iPhone

If you want to keep track of the sites visited by you and everyone else on your iPhone, you can access the “My Activity” feature through the Google app to view this information; here’s how.

  1. Open the Google app.
  2. Tap the profile picture in the top right corner to access the other user’s profile if they are not already logged in.
  3. Under the selected account, tap “Manage your Google account.”
  4. Press the “Data & Privacy” tab.
  5. Scroll down to ‘History Settings’ and choose ‘My Activity’.

The “Do not delete activity automatically” option is enabled by default. If you want, you can set activities older than 3, 18 or 36 months to be automatically deleted.

Disable Delete Browsing History in Chrome on an Android

To keep track of which sites have been visited by everyone with your Android device, you can access this information for each user via “My Activity” in the Google app; here’s how.

  1. Launch the Google app.
  2. Tap the profile picture in the top right corner to switch to another user if they are not already logged in.
  3. Under the selected account, tap “Manage your Google account.”
  4. Tap the “Data & Privacy” tab.
  5. Scroll down to ‘History Settings’ and select ‘My Activity’.

The “Do not delete activity automatically” option is enabled by default. You can set it to automatically delete activity older than 3, 18 or 36 months if you want.

FAQ

How do I lock my history in Google Chrome?

Here’s how to set a password for access to delete Internet history.

1. Open a new web page and go to the My Google Activity page.

2. Select the “Manage My Activity Verification” link.

3. Click the “Require additional authentication” option and then click “Save”.

Can someone see my browsing history from another computer?

Yes, when you are connected to a network that is under someone else’s control, they can see your browsing history. For example, your boss or the network administrator can see almost everything you do in the work environment.

Does a VPN hide my history from my ISP?

When you use VPN, all your internet traffic is encrypted, effectively hiding your activity from your ISP. However, your ISP will still be able to see that you are using a VPN and for how long, based on encrypted traffic going to a VPN server’s IP address. You can check out our picks for the best VPN services.

Users can still delete their browsing history

If multiple users have access to your computer or mobile device, you may want to keep a close eye on the sites visited. Chrome does not provide a reliable way to prevent other users using your devices from deleting their browsing history. However, you can set Chrome to always save browser history in the Admin console, use an app to save all history, or access the other user’s activity from My Activity. Unfortunately, these workarounds are only partially effective and anyone with intermediate level technical knowledge can get around them. So keep this in mind.

Which method do you think is most effective in your situation? Tell us in the comments below.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*