How to View Your Own Story on Snapchat

With Snapchat Stories, you can tell the story of your day by adding 10-second photos and videos that are public to your Snapchat followers for 24 hours before disappearing forever. The feature was so good that Facebook copied the idea to every network and app they own (Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp).

Unfortunately, there’s a pretty big flaw in Snapchat’s strategy: their app just isn’t that easy to learn or use. It can take a while to get used to, with a steep learning curve that can confuse newer users on the platform. Even something as simple as watching your own story can be a confusing mess if you’re not used to how the platform works.

Luckily, here at TechJunkie, we’re pretty much Snapchat experts, with knowledge of every tip and trick in the Snapchat book. If you’re curious about how to watch your own story on Snapchat, you’ve come to the right place. Let’s take a look at this guide.

View your story

You’ve created a Snapchat story and now you want to watch it or show it to someone else. It’s actually quite easy to view your Story, but it does take a few steps.

  1. Open the Snapchat app on your phone and tap your circle icon in the top left corner.

  2. Tap your Story. It starts playing automatically.

You can now watch your story as many times as you want.

Story Stats, Settings, and Adjustments

Whether you’re just enjoying your own content, showing it off to those around you, or trying to see how successful your Story is, Snapchat’s Stories have a lot to offer. The following sections provide instructions on how to use the various features of Snapchat Stories.

Who else has seen your story

When you load the page to see your Story, you may see an eye icon. This will tell you how many views (and who exactly) saw your story. No, it won’t tell you if the same person has watched your story more than once. It only shows who viewed it.

  1. Open your story as discussed above and swipe from bottom to top.

  2. A list of viewers appears.

Snapchat Story Timer

As you may already know, your Snapchat story is only available to view for 24 hours. If you look at your Story, you can still see how long it has been active. Open your story from seconds to hours and look in the top left corner.

How to view your expired stories

Now you may be concerned that you won’t be able to view the story once your Story expires. Thankfully, Snapchat does have a Memories feature that saves your story for you (and only you) to review later. Snapchat saves your stories by default (in most cases), so there really aren’t any steps you need to take to save them. You can access your memories from the home screen (the recording screen) within Snapchat. This is how it works:

  1. Locate the double card icon to the left of the record button.

  2. Select ‘Stories’then ‘My story’. Your old Snapchat stories will appear at the top.

The Reminders feature allows you to review expired Snaps, make changes, and send them to contacts. Let’s take a look at a few things you can do with Snapchat Memories.

Delete Snapchat Memories

Maybe you’ve posted something that really doesn’t interest you anymore. All you need to do is follow these steps:

  1. Open the module you want to remove by viewing your own story

  2. Tap the three vertical dots in the top right corner.

  3. Click “Remove Snap.” and Confirm when prompted and your Story will no longer appear in your Memories.

Edit and republish your memories

If your original Story didn’t get enough engagement, or if it’s something you’d like to republish, Memories lets you make changes and repost.

  1. Find the snap you want to republish in your memories.

  2. Once open, tap the three vertical dots in the top right corner and select “Edit Snap.”

Here you can add text, crop your story, add stickers and more. Once your edits are done, just tap the arrow icon in the bottom right corner and repost your story or send it to a friend.

Disable AutoSave

You may not want every Snap story saved to your Memories. You may like the option to choose which ones to save or even save them to the ‘My Eyes Only’ folder. Fortunately, Snapchat gives you this freedom:

  1. Tap the circle icon in the top left corner.

  2. Press Settings gear in the top right corner.

  3. Tap “Memories.”

  4. Toggle your options on and off as you see fit.

Create a custom story

The last Stories feature worth checking out is one of the newest additions. Recently Snapchat added custom stories to your app so you can create promoted stories for events you want to share with a specific group or selection of people. In principle, you can use this to ensure that only a certain group of people see your story. For example, if you’re at an event that you only want to share with specific friends or colleagues, you can select certain contacts from your friend group and prevent the rest of your connections from seeing that story.

Shut down

Snapchat has many customization and privacy features related to your stories. Hopefully you can use some of them. Do you have any tips, tricks, or questions related to customizing your story on Snapchat?

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*