How To Turn Off Friend Suggestions in SnapChat

Like most people, you probably have a long list of friends on Snapchat. But have you ever noticed that the app suggests other users that you might want to add to your list? While this feature can be useful if you want to expand your social circle, it can also be a bit intrusive.

Friend suggestions can include people you’ve had a complicated history with. It may include people you don’t know, but who probably have your phone number. Sometimes the list may also include scammers with ulterior motives.

Fortunately, there is a way to disable these suggestions and prevent Snapchat from filling your feed with users you don’t want to interact with.

In this article, we’ll show you how to do this.

One of Snapchat’s features is the “friend suggestions” section. This section of the app shows you recommended friends based on your current contacts and past interactions on Snapchat. You can also view friends who are nearby or recently active in the app. While this feature can help you find new friends, it can also be confusing and overwhelming.

You may be getting too many requests or requests from people you don’t want to interact with. And with too many friends, you can get messy DMs while everyone else is trying to break the ice.

Fortunately, Snapchat offers a way to turn off new friend suggestions. You just need to adjust your settings. Let’s take a look at how to do this depending on the type of device you are using.

How to disable new friend suggestions in Snapchat on an iPhone

iPhones are Snapchat compatible and provide a high-quality experience. The camera on the iPhone is one of the best available, and Snapchat takes advantage of this by offering users filters and lenses that improve the quality of photos and videos.

The Snapchat app for iPhones is designed to keep you in control of your friends list. If you don’t want the platform’s algorithms to suggest new friends you can connect to, all you need to do is change the app’s permissions.

Here’s how:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap your avatar in the top left corner.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top right corner. This should lead you to the ‘Settings’ section of your account.
  3. Select “Notifications” from the drop-down menu.
  4. Uncheck the box next to “Friend suggestions.”

And that’s it! You will no longer get occasional notifications about new potential connections.

Many Snapchat users aren’t aware that there’s another settings change that lets you manage your friend suggestions — by disabling the platform’s Quick Add feature.

The Quick Add feature on Snapchat is a way to quickly and easily add friends on Snapchat. It will appear at the top of your screen as soon as you open the app. Whenever you receive a random request from someone, it means that you have appeared on their Quick Add list. So if you disable this feature, you will not appear on other people’s lists. This can help you reduce the number of friend suggestions you receive.

Here’s how to disable Quick Add on your Snapchat account:

  1. Open your Snapchat app and tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Go to the “Settings” section by tapping the gear icon in the top right corner.
  3. Navigate to the “Who Can” submenu.
  4. Select “See me in Quick Add” from the drop-down menu.
  5. Uncheck ‘Show me in Quick Add’.

Once you have done this, you will no longer be part of the Quick Add list of other Snapchatters. Essentially, it will reduce the visibility of your profile on the platform. However, users can still find you by typing your username in the search bar.

Turn off new friend suggestions in Snapchat on an Android device

The Snapchat app built for devices running Android is eerily similar to the one designed for iPhones. As a result, managing your friends list is also very similar.

Here’s how to disable friend suggestions on your Android:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Open the “Settings” section by tapping the gear icon in the top right corner.
  3. Tap Notifications.
  4. Uncheck the box next to “Friend suggestions.”

This prevents Snapchat from sending notifications when its algorithms detect a user with whom you share interests, including mutual friends.

FAQ

Who is most likely to appear on your friend suggestions list on Snapchat?

The people on your friend suggestions list on Snapchat are usually in your phone’s contact list, but haven’t been added to the app yet. These users are generally also people with whom you share interests.

In addition, Snapchat algorithms take into account how often you interact with someone on Snapchat and how often they interact with you. So if you’re constantly sending snaps to someone and they respond just as often, chances are they’ll end up on your friend suggestion list.

Clean up your feed

Snapchat is a great way to stay in touch with friends and family, but it can also be a source of unnecessary stress. It can be hard to keep up with your current social circle if you’re constantly bombarded with suggestions for friends. After all, the main idea of ​​Snapchat is to help you connect with close friends and family, but not everyone on the platform.

Fortunately, Snapchat gives users the option to turn off friend suggestions. By taking this step, you can clean up your feed and focus on the connections that matter most to you. Keep in mind that disabling these suggestions will make it harder for people to find and contact you. But if you value your privacy, it’s worth going the extra mile.

Have you tried turning off friend suggestions on your Snapchat account? How did it go?

Let us know in the comments below.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*