How To Delete a Discord Account

There is no shortage of ways to message your friends online, but if you ever play games, Discord is by far the best option for you. While the chat app has become one of the most important messaging apps both in and out of gaming, it actually started out as a failed online multiplayer game designed for iOS.

An application that aims to let your PC or mobile device focus most of its resources on your actual games rather than the chat application running in the background.

Whether you want to switch to another chat app or delete your account to make a point, it’s worth taking a look at how to delete your Discord account and what the difference is between disabling and deleting.

How to disable your Discord account

Discord allows you to delete or disable your account, similar to social networks like Facebook. Deleting your account means you will no longer use it, while disabling your account usually means taking a break.

If you’d rather not delete your account completely and would rather take a longer break with the option to return, disabling your Discord account is the better choice. This option will save you some time later when you return, and you won’t have to jump through hoops to get it back.

To start:

  1. Open the Discord app on your screen.
  2. After logging in, click on your User Settings (the gear icon) in the lower left corner.
  3. At the bottom of the window you will see the option to: Disable Account, happens to be to the right of Delete Account. Click it to disable your account.

Disable your account on mobile

Disabling your account for both iOS and Android is not as easy as it is on a desktop. Currently there is no way to disable or delete your account from a mobile device. When you try to select one of the options, you can reach it by:

  1. Open the Discord app on your phone or mobile device.
  2. Tap your profile icon at the bottom right and it will open User Settings; tap on My bill.
  3. You have the option to ‘Disable Account‘ or ‘Remove Account.’ However, once you select either one, you’ll be taken to a support page that describes ways to make that happen, similar to what you’re already reading here.

To disable or delete an account from mobile, you need a request with support. This is currently the only way for mobile users to delete their Discord account.

How To Permanently Delete Your Discord Account

Decided to take the full plunge and cut ties with Discord completely? No problem. It’s pretty much the same procedure as disabling your account with a different ending. As mentioned before, for those who are mobile, you will need to contact support to have your account deleted.

Before deleting your account, you must reassign administrative privileges to your servers or delete them completely. If you need to transfer ownership of your Discord server, read this article.

To delete your account:

  1. Pull up Discord on your screen.
  2. Once logged in, go to your User Settings (the gear icon).
  3. Choose to edit your account. At the bottom of the window you will see the option to: Remove Account. Click on it to make your account disappear for good.

You will likely be prompted to enter your password and your 2FA code before completing the process. Oh, and by the way, for the removal to work, you actually need to do a few things beforehand. If you own a server (or several), you must transfer ownership to a trusted source or delete the server.

Transfer ownership:

  1. In the Discord app, click on the server name and open the Server Settings.
  2. below User managementfind and click the Members in the left menu.
  3. Here you will make the big decision about who gets the keys to the kingdom. Once you’ve decided who puts you in charge, hover over the username and click on the three vertical white dots.
  4. In the dialog box menu, click ‘Transfer ownership.’

Once the transfer is complete, you will simply become a regular member of the server depending on the role provided. Your access maintained within the server is limited to the permissions associated with that role.

If your server doesn’t have anyone reliable to report to, or if you somehow don’t really care, you might as well delete it. To delete a server:

  1. Go to Server Settings as we did above.
  2. Scroll down the menu on the left, only this time go past User Manager and instead go straight to ‘Delete server.’
  3. Click ‘Delete server‘ and confirm the deletion by entering your account password to completely erase the server. If you have two-factor authorization enabled for your account, just like deleting an account, you must enter the code provided before deleting the server.

You will then be prompted to press the Delete Server button one last time before all is said and done. After you delete your account, you have 14 days to recover it. After that two-week period, you will no longer be able to log in or retrieve information from the account.

Once your account is gone, your username will show up as DeletedUser 0000 or something like that. People you’ve messaged in the past will continue to see your messages. Contact Discord support to permanently delete all traces of your Discord account.

Frequently Asked Questions

Deleting your Discord account is a big step, so we’ve got the answers to other questions you may have.

If I delete my account, will all my messages disappear?

No. If you delete your account, your username will default to discorduser#0000. But all your messages, photos you sent and texts will be kept.

Can I restart my Discord account?

As mentioned before, you can reactivate your account within 14 days. If you’ve contacted Discord’s support team for cancellation, you won’t be able to reactivate it, but you can create an account from scratch.

How do I delete all my messages?

If you’re willing to delete your Discord account but would like to take your posts with you, we’ve got a full tutorial here to help you do that! You can choose to delete specific messages individually, or if you are a server administrator you can add a bot to do this for you.

Until so long disagreement

Deleting your Discord account is easy, but deciding to abolish it may not be. If you’ve decided to ditch this Discord, following the instructions above will get the job done!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*