How to Check Who Your Location Is Shared With on an iPhone

Apple devices allow you to share your location with family and friends. They can track your whereabouts, see where you are going and make sure you are safe. You can adjust these settings at any time, but sometimes you may forget to disable others to see where you are.

If you want to know how to check who you’ve shared your location with on your iPhone, you’ve come to the right place. This article tells you everything you need to know about the location sharing feature.

How to see who your location is shared with

With the Find My app that comes with every Apple device, you can find your friends and share your location.

To change the list of people who can see your location, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My”.
  4. You will see the list of people who can see your location.

You can also use the “Find My” app:

  1. Open the “Find My” app.
  2. Tap ‘People’.
  3. See the list of people who can track your whereabouts.

How to stop sharing location with someone on iPhone?

The decision to share your location with someone is always yours. If you want to stop sharing your location with a particular person, you’ll be happy to know that there are multiple ways to accomplish this. We will go through them all with you.

Find my settings

The first method requires you to access the Find My settings and remove the person:

  1. Go to your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My”.
  4. Tap the person’s name in the list of people who can see your location.
  5. Tap “Stop sharing my location.”
  6. You will see a prompt asking you to confirm your decision. Tap “Stop sharing my location” again.

Find my app

You can use the Find My app to edit the list of people who can see your location.

Here’s what to do:

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Go to the “People” tab.
  3. You’ll see a list of people who can see your location and the people whose location you can see. Those who can see your whereabouts are marked with ‘Can see your location’. Choose the one you want to remove from the list.
  4. Tap “Stop sharing my location” and confirm when prompted.

Another way to stop sharing your location with someone is to swipe their name to the left and tap the delete button.

The person will be removed from the list unless they have given you access to their location. In that case, they will remain on the list, but ‘Can see your location’ will be removed.

Messaging app

You can use the Messages app to check if you are sharing your location with a specific person and stop sharing.

Here’s what to do:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Tap the conversation thread with the person in question.
  3. Tap their photo.
  4. Tap “Stop sharing my location.”

Contacts app

The Contacts app lets you check if you’re sharing your location with anyone and disable it if you want.

To do this, follow the instructions below:

  1. Open the Contacts app / Open the Phone app and tap “Contacts”.
  2. Find the contact you want to stop sharing your location with and tap it.
  3. If you share your location with them, you’ll see the “Stop sharing my location” option. Tap it.
  4. A pop-up message will appear asking you to confirm your decision. Tap “Stop sharing my location” again.

Maps app

If you have iOS 13.1 or later, you can use the Maps app to share your estimated time of arrival with your family or friends while using navigation.

You can stop this as follows:

  1. During the directions, tap ‘Share ETA’.
  2. Tap the relevant contact to stop sharing your estimated time of arrival.

Once you arrive at your destination, the ETA is no longer shared.

How to stop sharing a location with anyone

In addition to disabling location sharing with specific people, you can disable this option completely and prevent everyone from knowing where you are.

Find my settings

Follow the instructions below to stop sharing your location through your settings:

  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap “Find My”.
  4. Toggle the toggle next to ‘Share my location’.

You can also use this method:

  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap ‘Privacy’.
  3. Tap “Location Services.”
  4. Tap ‘Share my location’.
  5. Toggle the toggle next to ‘Share my location’.

Find my app

Another way to turn off location sharing is to adjust the settings in the Find My app.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open the Find My app.
  2. Go to the “Me” tab.
  3. Toggle the toggle next to ‘Share my location’.

Please note that once you re-enable location sharing, any contacts who could see your location will share your location again. To avoid this, you can delete all contacts from your list using one of the methods discussed above.

Additional FAQs

How do I know if someone is no longer sharing their location with me?

When someone stops sharing their location with you, you won’t be notified. However, there is a way to find out who disabled you from tracking their whereabouts.

One of the methods is to check the “People” list:

1. Open the “Find My” app.

2. Go to the “People” tab.

3. You will see a list of people who can see your location and whose you can see theirs. If the person in question is not on the list, it means that they no longer share their location with you.

Once the person reactivates location sharing, you’ll be notified if you’re still on their list.

Track people who can see your location

While sharing your location can be helpful, it might be a good idea to be mindful of who has access to your whereabouts. You can check who has access to your location and remove it if necessary. Alternatively, you can disable location services altogether.

Do you often share your location with others? What methods do you use to keep your whereabouts private? Tell us in the comments below.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *