By default, Facebook Messenger users receive a read receipt when their message has been read. That’s a rather useful feature that lets you know that the recipient has been notified. However, sometimes those read receipts can work against you.

If you’re wondering how to turn off the read receipts in Facebook Messenger, the sad truth is that you can’t. However, you can delay the read receipt to the recipient, which can be useful under certain circumstances, such as when you don’t want to be disturbed by a fast responder.

If you’re still wondering how to read that received message without notifying the sender, we have a partial solution. Follow the steps below:

  1. Go to your phone’s Settings app.

  2. Slide the toggle button next to the Flight mode to the on position. It should turn green.

  3. Launch the Messenger app and open the necessary conversation.

  4. After reading the message, close the app and swipe it from your app drawer.

  5. Turn off the … Flight mode.

Since airplane mode disables the network connection, the sender is not notified that you are reading his or her message. Alternatively, you can use special third-party apps to “not see” Facebook messages.

How to Disable Messenger Read Receipts in Android App

If you’re wondering how to disable the read receipts in the Facebook Messenger Android app, we’ve got some bad news: there’s no easy way to do that. Facebook doesn’t let users choose whether to send read receipts to message senders. Fortunately, we found a way around it. Follow the instructions below:

  1. Swipe in from the top of your phone’s screen to the center to access the Quick settings menu.

  2. Tap the airplane icon to turn it on Flight mode.

  3. Go to Messenger and open the conversation with the unread message.

  4. After reading the message, close it Messenger app.

  5. Tap the square icon in the bottom right corner of your screen to see all the apps running in the background. If you see Messenger in the list, swipe it out.

  6. Swipe from the top to the center of your screen and tap the airplane icon again to turn it off Flight mode.

Airplane mode disables the network connection so that the sender of the message does not receive the return receipt.

Disable Messenger Read Receipts on a PC

Facebook users cannot disable read receipts. However, if you have a Windows laptop, we have a way around this limitation. Follow the instructions below:

  1. Download the Messenger Desktop app. A regular browser version of Messenger will not work.

  2. Log in to your Facebook account via the app.

  3. Click the Get started button at the bottom right and type in Flight mode.

    Windows Start menu - search in airplane mode

  4. Open the Flight mode menu and click the toggle button on.

  5. Launch the Messenger desktop app and open the conversation with the unread message.

  6. Close the app after reading the message.

  7. Go to the Flight mode menu again and turn the toggle knob Out.

Turning on airplane mode works because it disables the network connection, just like airplane mode does for smartphones. If you don’t want to lose internet connection or don’t have airplane mode, you can use third-party apps like Facebook Unseen. Here’s how to use it:

  1. Install the app on your PC. Once you do, the app’s logo icon will appear next to your browser’s address bar.

  2. Click the app’s logo icon.

  3. Check the box next to it Block the “Seen” function..

That is it; all delivery receipts of read messages in the chosen Facebook chat will be disabled.

Additional FAQs

This section contains more answers to your frequently asked questions about Facebook Messenger.

If I turn off read receipts, will I still see when other people read my messages?

When you disable sending receipts in apps like WhatsApp, you will also not receive receipts about other users reading your messages. In other words, it is a double-ended function. However, the Messenger app does not allow users to disable the read receipts.

Enabling airplane mode or using third-party apps that don’t display messages will not affect Facebook’s functionality. You will still see when someone reads your messages unless they use the same tricks to hide the read receipts.

If I turn off my active status, will I still see when others are online?

While Facebook won’t let you turn off your read receipts, you can turn off your online status indicator. After you do this, other Facebook users will not be able to know when you are logged into the app. You can still see when others are online unless they’ve also disabled the feature.

Can someone see that I have read the message request?

Luckily not. Message requests are messages from other users who are not your friend. Usually these messages go to a separate folder. If you open and read the message, the sender will not receive a read receipt.

However, if you respond, all future messages will contain the default read receipts.

Keep it a secret

Now that you know how to bypass Facebook Messenger’s read receipt feature, you can avoid awkward situations and guilt for not replying to messages right away. If you use third-party apps to get messages unread, read reviews before installing and don’t download from shady websites. Hopefully, Facebook will let users disable read receipts at some point in the future.

What feature are you really missing in the Facebook Messenger app? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Author

Write A Comment