It’s probably fair to say that we’ve all blocked at least one person on Gmail. Sometimes it’s easier to just block an address than to see that person has sent you another junk email.
But what if you’ve changed your mind and now you want to see the emails you’ve blocked? Whether or not you can view them depends on how you blocked them. In this article we discuss what your options are.
Blocked emails in Gmail
You may have thought that you have blocked certain people from sending you emails. Gmail doesn’t technically allow you to block anyone from emailing you. Most likely what you have done is filter junk emails in a specific folder. You will not receive any notifications for this; they are simply redirected to another folder. A more accurate term is “filtered” email and not “blocked” email.
If you have never set up a new folder where these unwanted emails from a specific address should be sent, then they ended up in your spam folder. And that’s where the dilemma begins. Emails in the Gmail spam folder are automatically deleted after 30 days. If you’ve set up a special folder, you’re in luck. Those emails won’t be deleted until you send them to the trash.
How to view your blocked emails in Gmail on Mac or Windows PC
If you have set up a special folder where you want to send unwanted emails from a specific email address, you can view it. Here we show you how to get to that folder by following the steps below:
- Sign in to your Gmail account.
- At the top left of the screen you will see a list of folders. Tap “More” to see the full list.
- Find and click on the folder you created for the junk emails.
- Here you will see a list of the emails you have “blocked”.
If you have not set up a special folder and labeled unwanted emails as spam, go to your spam folder. If the emails are less than 30 days old, you will find them here.
How to view your blocked emails in Gmail on iPhone or Android device
You can see which email addresses you’ve blocked by using the Gmail app on your iPhone or Android. The fastest way is to go to the special folder you have set up to filter certain addresses or you can check the spam folder. Another method is to view a list of all blocked addresses. Follow the instructions below to view the list.
For iPhone users, follow these instructions:
- Open your Gmail app on your iPhone.
- Tap the three horizontal lines.
- Find and select ‘Spam’.
- Here you will see a list of blocked email addresses.
Android users should follow the steps below:
- Go to ‘Settings’, ‘Google’ and then ‘Manage your Google account’.
- Find and tap “People & sharing.”
- Under ‘Contracts’, click ‘Blocked’.
- Here you will find all addresses that you have blocked.
How to unblock emails in Gmail on Mac or PC
If you’ve decided that you no longer want to filter emails from a specific email address, the process is simple. Follow these steps to learn how:
- Open your Gmail account.
- Tap the “Gear” icon to access your account settings.
- Find and click on “Filters and Blocked Addresses”.
- Here you will see a list of all email addresses that have been blocked. Find the address you no longer want to filter and press “Unblock”.
- Click ‘Unblock’.
Once you tap that button, all future incoming emails from that address will no longer be filtered and will be delivered directly to your Inbox folder.
How to unblock emails in Gmail on iPhone or Android
If you no longer want to filter a specific email address on your iPhone or Android, you will not be able to make the change through the Gmail website. However, you can do this with the Gmail mobile app, which you can download from Google Play. To unblock emails using the mobile app:
- Launch the Gmail app on your iPhone or Android
- Tap the folder you’ve set up to filter junk emails or if it’s in your spam folder, look there.
- Find the email address you want to unblock and click ‘Unblock sender’.
All future emails from that address will no longer be filtered and will be delivered to your Inbox folder.
If I block someone on Gmail, will they know I’ve blocked them?
The answer is no. Blocked email addresses will not receive any notification that they have been blocked.
Viewing blocked emails in Gmail depends on how you blocked them
Gmail doesn’t actually block emails, but it does filter them out of your inbox. If you’ve set up rules for an email address to bypass your inbox and go straight to a specific folder, you can view it at any time. However, if you just marked them as spam, they will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
Have you ever wanted to view your blocked emails in Gmail? Have you followed the same methods described in this article? Let us know in the comments below.